For Department Chairs

Strong departmental leadership is vitally important to George Mason University.

The responsibilities covered by departmental leaders cover the gamut of operations in the academic environment.

Department heads:

  • Oversee teaching quality
  • Maintain and modify applicable educational programs
  • Promote faculty governance
  • Evaluate and support faculty performance
  • Monitor budgets
  • Manage staffing
  • Provide input and suggestions to deans, directors, and the academic community.

George Mason University acknowledges and honors the hard work involved in the tasks of department leaders.

 

Department Leader Rosters:

College of Education and Human Development

Title/Unit Name Email
Dean, College of Education and Human Development Ingrid Guerra-López iguerral
Division Director, Advanced Professional Teacher Development and International Education Joan Shin jshin23
Division Director, Child, Family, and Community Engagement Julie Kidd jkidd
Division Director, Education Leadership Farnoosh Shahrokhi
and Regina Biggs
fshahrok
rbiggs
Division Director, Educational Psychology, Research Methods, and Education Policy Michelle Buehl mbuehl
Division Director, Elementary, Literacy, and Secondary Education Kristien Zenkov kzenkov
Division Director, Learning Technologies Nada Dabbagh  ndabbagh
Director, School of Education Audra Parker aparke19
Director, School of Kinesiology Amanda Caswell aalleni
Director, School of Sport, Recreation and Tourism Bob Baker rbaker2
Division Director, Special Education and disAbility Research Pamela Baker pbaker5

 

College of Engineering and Computing

Title/Unit Name Email
Dean, College of Engineering and Computing Kenneth Ball ball
Interim Divisional Dean, School of Engineering Ariela Sofer asofer
Divisional Dean, School of Computing Gurdip Singh gsingh36
Interim Chair, Bioengineering Avrama Blackwell kblackw1
Director, Computer Forensics and Data Analytics Bob Osgood rosgood
Chair, Computer Science David Rosenblum dsr
Acting Chair, Cyber Security Engineering Duminda Wijesekera dwijesek
Director, Data Analytics Engineering James Baldo jbaldo
Chair, Electrical and Computer Engineering Monson Hayes hayes
Chair, Information Sciences and Technology Ozlem Uzuner ouzuner
Chair, Mechanical Engineering Leigh McCue lmccuewe
Chair, Sid and Reva Dewberry Dept. of Civil, Environmental and Infrastructure Engineering Sam Salem osalem
Chair, Statistics Jiayang Sun jsun21
Chair, Systems Engineering and Operations Research John Shortle jshortle

 

College of Public Health

Title/Unit Name Email
Dean, College of Public Health Melissa Perry mperry27
Chair, Global and Community Health Carolyn Drews-Botsch cdrewsbo
Chair, Health Administration and Policy P.J. Maddox pmaddox
Chair, Nutrition and Food Studies Larry Cheskin lcheskin
Interim Director, School of Nursing Cheryl Oetjen coetjen
Chair, Social Work Emily Ihara eihara

 

College of Humanities and Social Sciences

Title/Unit Name Email
Dean, College of Humanities and Social Sciences Ann Ardis aardis
Director, African and African American Studies LaNitra Berger lberger2
Chair, Communication Anne Nicotera anicoter
Chair, Criminology, Law and Society James Willis jwillis4
Interim Director, Cultural Studies Roger Lancaster rlancast
Chair, Economics Daniel Houser dhouser
Chair, English Tamara Harvey tharvey2
Director, Global Affairs Courtney Hughes Rinker  chughe13
Director, Higher Education Daniel Chen pchen23
Chair, History and Art History Matthew Karush mkarush
Director, Interdisciplinary Studies Ben Gatling bgatling
Interim Director, Latin American Studies Lisa Breglia lbreglia
Director, Middle East and Islamic Studies Vacant N/A
Chair, Modern and Classical Languages Mohammad Salama msalama2
Chair, Philosophy Lisa Eckenwiler leckenwi
Chair, Psychology Keith Renshaw krenshaw
Chair, Religious Studies John Turner jturne17
Interim Director, Russian and Eurasian Studies Steven Barnes sbarnes3
Executive Director, School of Integrative Studies Kelly Dunne kdunne
Chair, Sociology and Anthropology Dan Temple dtemple3
Director, Women and Gender Studies Anu Aneja aaneja2

 

College of Science

Title/Unit Name Email
Dean, College of Science Fernando Miralles-Wilhelm  fmiralle
Chair, Atmospheric, Oceanic, and Earth Sciences Mark Uhen muhen
Chair, Biology Geraldine Grant ggrant1
Chair, Chemistry and Biochemistry Gerald Weatherspoon grobert1
Chair, Computational and Data Sciences Jason Kinser jkinser
Interim Chair, Environmental Science and Policy Larry Rockwood lrockwoo
Director, Forensic Science Mary Ellen O'Toole motoole2
Chair, Geography and Geoinformation Science Dieter Pfoser dpfoser
Director, Advanced Biomedical Sciences Programs (GeorgeSquared) William Hahn whahn2
Director, Interdisciplinary Program in Neuroscience Saleet Jafri sjafri
Chair, Mathematical Sciences Maria Emelianenko memelian
Chair, Physics and Astronomy Paul So paso
Director, School of Systems Biology Iosif Vaisman ivaisman

 

College of Visual and Performing Arts

Title/Unit Name Email
Dean, College of Visual and Performing Arts Rick Davis rdavi4
Director, Arts Management Karalee Dawn kdawn
Associate Director, Computer Game Design Sang Nam snam5
Interim Director, Film and Video Studies Cynthia Fuchs cfuchs
Interim Director, School of Art Donald Starr dstarr
Director, School of Dance Karen Reedy kreedy
Director, School of Music Linda Monson lmonson
Director, School of Theater Djola Branner dbranner

 

Honors College

Title/Unit

Name Email
Dean, Honors College Zofia Burr zburr
Associate Dean, Honors College Jan Allbeck jallbeck
Assistant Dean, Honors College Anthony Hoefer ahoefer

Jimmy and Rosalynn Carter School for Peace and Conflict Resolution

Title/Unit Name Email
Dean, Jimmy and Rosalynn Carter School for Peace and Conflict Resolution Alpaslan Ozerdem aozerdem
Director, Graduate Programs Thomas Flores tflores2
Director, Undergraduate Programs Mara Schoeny mschoeny

 

Schar School of Policy and Government

Title/Unit Name Email
Dean, Schar School of Policy and Government Mark Rozell mrozell
Program Director, Biodefense Greg Koblentz gkoblent
Program Director, International Commerce and Policy Ken Reinert kreinert
Program Director, International Security Ellen Laipson elaipson
Program Director, Organization Development and Knowledge Management Tojo Thatchenkery thatchen
Program Director, Political Science Jeremy Mayer jmayer4
Program Director, Undergrad Heba El-Shazli helshazl
Program Director, Public Administration - Master's Mirae Kim mkim216
Program Director, Public Policy - Master's Justin Gest jgest
Program Director, Public Policy - PhD John Earle earle

 

School of Business

Title/Unit Name Email
Dean, School of Business Ajay Vinze avinze
Chair, Accounting Long Chen lchenk
Chair, Business Foundations Jackie Brown jbrown39
Chair, Finance Alexander Philipov aphilipo
Chair, Information Systems and Operations Management Pallab Sanyal psanyal
Chair, Management Claus Langfred clangfre
Chair, Marketing Jessica Hoppner jhoppner