Department Chair Resources

The responsibilities covered by departmental leaders cover the gamut of operations in the academic environment.

Strong departmental leadership is vitally important to George Mason University. Department heads:

  • Oversee teaching quality
  • Maintain and modify applicable educational programs
  • Promote faculty governance
  • Evaluate and support faculty performance
  • Monitor budgets
  • Manage staffing
  • Provide input and suggestions to deans, directors, and the academic community.

George Mason acknowledges and honors the hard work involved in the tasks of department leaders.


Department Leader Rosters:

College of Education and Human Development

Title/Unit Name Email
Dean, College of Education and Human Development Ingrid Guerra-López iguerral
Director, Advanced Professional Teacher Development and International Education Ellen Drogin Rodgers erodger1
Director, Child, Family, and Community Engagement Sam Steen ssteen
Director, Education Leadership Farnoosh Shahrokhi fshahrok
Director, Educational Psychology and Research Methods Michelle Buehl mbuehl
Director, Elementary, Literacy, and Secondary Education Kristien Zenkov kzenkov
Director, Learning Technologies Nada Dabbagh  ndabbagh
Director, PhD in Education Sheri Berkeley sberkele
Director, School of Education Audra Parker aparke19
Interim Director, School of Kinesiology Bob Baker rbaker2
Director, School of Sport, Recreation, and Tourism Management Bob Baker rbaker2
Director, Special Education and disAbility Research Pamela Hudson-Baker pbaker5

College of Engineering and Computing

Title/Unit Name Email
Dean, College of Engineering and Computing Kenneth Ball ball
Divisional Dean, School of Engineering Ariela Sofer asofer
Divisional Dean, School of Computing Gurdip Singh gsingh36
Chair, Bioengineering Ketul Popat kpopat
Director, Computer Forensics and Data Analytics Bob Osgood rosgood
Chair, Computer Science David Rosenblum dsr
Interim Chair, Cyber Security Engineering Paulo Costa pcosta
Director, Data Analytics Engineering James Baldo jbaldo
Interim Chair, Electrical and Computer Engineering Brian Mark bmark
Chair, Information Sciences and Technology Ozlem Uzuner ouzuner
Chair, Mechanical Engineering Leigh McCue lmccuewe
Interim Chair, Sid and Reva Dewberry Dept. of Civil, Environmental, and Infrastructure Engineering Elise Miller-Hooks miller
Chair, Statistics Jiayang Sun jsun21
Chair, Systems Engineering and Operations Research John Shortle jshortle

College of Public Health

Title/Unit Name Email
Dean, College of Public Health Melissa Perry mperry27
Chair, Global and Community Health Carolyn Drews-Botsch cdrewsbo
Chair, Health Administration and Policy P.J. Maddox pmaddox2
Interim Chair, Nutrition and Food Studies Elisabeth de Jonge edejonge
Director, School of Nursing Margaret Rodan mrodan
Chair, Social Work Emily Ihara eihara

College of Humanities and Social Sciences

Title/Unit Name Email
Dean, College of Humanities and Social Sciences Ann Ardis aardis
Director, African and African American Studies LaNitra Berger lberger2
Chair, Communication Kim Meltzer kmeltzer
Chair, Criminology, Law, and Society James Willis jwillis4
Interim Director, Cultural Studies Roger Lancaster rlancast
Chair, Economics Daniel Houser dhouser
Chair, English Tamara Harvey tharvey2
Director, Global Affairs Cortney Hughes Rinker  chughe13
Director, Higher Education Daniel Chen pchen23
Chair, History and Art History Matthew Karush mkarush
Director, Interdisciplinary Studies Ben Gatling bgatling
Interim Director, Latin American Studies Lisa Breglia lbreglia
Director, Middle East and Islamic Studies Vacant N/A
Interim Chair, Modern and Classical Languages Karl Zhang kzhang
Chair, Philosophy Lisa Eckenwiler leckenwi
Interim Chair, Psychology Tim Curby tcurby
Chair, Religious Studies John Turner jturne17
Director, Russian and Eurasian Studies Steven Barnes sbarnes3
Executive Director, School of Integrative Studies Kelly Dunne kdunne
Chair, Sociology and Anthropology Dan Temple dtemple3
Director, Women and Gender Studies Anu Aneja aaneja2

College of Science

Title/Unit Name Email
Dean, College of Science Fernando Miralles-Wilhelm  fmiralle
Chair, Atmospheric, Oceanic, and Earth Sciences Mark Uhen muhen
Chair, Biology Geraldine Grant ggrant1
Chair, Chemistry and Biochemistry Mikell Paige mpaige3
Chair, Computational and Data Sciences Jason Kinser jkinser
Interim Chair, Environmental Science and Policy Amy Fowler afowler6
Director, Forensic Science Mary Ellen O'Toole motoole2
Chair, Geography and Geoinformation Science Dieter Pfoser dpfoser
Director, Advanced Biomedical Sciences Programs (GeorgeSquared) William Hahn whahn2
Director, Interdisciplinary Program in Neuroscience Saleet Jafri sjafri
Chair, Mathematical Sciences Maria Emelianenko memelian
Chair, Physics and Astronomy Ernest Barreto ebarreto
Director, School of Systems Biology Iosif Vaisman ivaisman

College of Visual and Performing Arts

Title/Unit Name Email
Dean, College of Visual and Performing Arts Rick Davis rdavi4
Director, Arts Management Karalee Dawn kdawn
Associate Director, Computer Game Design Sang Nam snam5
Interim Director, Film and Video Studies Cynthia Fuchs cfuchs
Director, School of Art Zoe Charlton zcharlto
Director, School of Dance Karen Reedy kreedy
Director, School of Music Linda Monson lmonson
Director, School of Theater Djola Branner dbranner

Costello College of Business

Title/Unit Name Email
Dean, Costello College of Business Ajay Vinzé avinze
Chair, Accounting Long Chen lchenk
Chair, Business Foundations Cameron Harris charris
Chair, Finance Alexander Philipov aphilipo
Chair, Information Systems and Operations Management Pallab Sanyal psanyal
Chair, Management Claus Langfred clangfre
Chair, Marketing Jessica Hoppner jhoppner

Honors College


Name Email
Dean, Honors College Zofia Burr zburr
Assistant Dean, Faculty and Curriculum John Woolsey jwoolsey 
Associate Dean, Honors College Jan Allbeck jallbeck
Associate Dean, Student Engagement, Admissions, and Administration Anthony Hoefer ahoefer

Jimmy and Rosalynn Carter School for Peace and Conflict Resolution

Title/Unit Name Email
Dean, Jimmy and Rosalynn Carter School for Peace and Conflict Resolution Alpaslan Özerdem aozerdem
Director, Graduate Programs Susan Allen sallen29
Director, Undergraduate Programs Mara Schoeny mschoeny

Schar School of Policy and Government

Title/Unit Name Email
Dean, Schar School of Policy and Government Mark Rozell mrozell
Director, Biodefense Greg Koblentz gkoblent
Director, Global Commerce and Policy – Master's Ken Reinert kreinert
Director, International Security and Center for Security Policy Studies Ellen Laipson elaipson
Director, Organization Development and Knowledge Management Tojo Thatchenkery
Penny Potter (Spring 2024)
Director, Political Science – PhD and Master's Jeremy Mayer jmayer4
Director, Undergraduate Programs Ahsan Butt abutt4
Director, Public Administration – Master's Mirae Kim mkim216
Director, Public Policy – Master's Justin Gest jgest
Director, Public Policy – PhD  John Earle earle